CS Colloquium (BMAC)


siegel ISTeC Distinguished Lecture in conjunction with the Computer Science Department and the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department Seminar Series
Towards A software-defined Infrastructure for Smart IoT Systems

Speaker: Prashant Shenoy, Professor, Associate Dean, Computer Science, University of Massachusetts

11:00AM ~ 11:50AM, March 26, 2018

Where: Morgan Library Event Hall

Contact: Anura Jayasumana (

Abstract:Today smart IoT devices, sensor data analytics, and associated smart technologies have begun to permeate through every aspect of our society. This has led to the emergence of smart and connected communities as well as individual applications domains such as smart buildings, smart health, smart vehicles, and others. In this talk, I will argue the need for a software-defined infrastructure for flexible monitoring, analysis, and control in such systems. I will draw upon examples from smart buildings and related domains to describe how such a software-defined infrastructure can be used, in conjunction with data-driven techniques, to build flexible smart systems and applications. I will end with a discussion of how computer science and networking principles continue to be used as an inspiration for building the next-generation of smart IoT systems.

Bio:Prashant Shenoy is currently a Professor and Associate Dean in the College of Information and Computer Sciences at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. He received the B.Tech degree in Computer Science and Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay and the M.S and Ph.D degrees in Computer Science from the University of Texas, Austin. His research interests lie in distributed systems and networking, with a recent emphasis on cloud and green computing. He has been the recipient of several best paper awards at leading conferences, including a Sigmetrics Test of Time Award. He serves on editorial boards of the several journals and has served as the program chair of over a dozen ACM and IEEE conferences. He is a fellow of the IEEE and the AAAS and a distinguished member of the ACM.